Full Backup

Overview #

A Full Backup saves the entire system. It creates a snapshot of a moment in time, and allows you to restore the system back to that state.

Contents of a Full Backup #

A typical edgeCore deployment will consist of many different layers of configuration.

Content Types
Description
Data A collection of data sets that transform raw data into something that can be presented on a page. These can be seen in the pipeline.

  1. Connections
  2. Feeds and Transforms
    1. Node Variables
    2. Secured Variables
    3. Constraints
  3. Write-Back Actions
Visualizations A set of rules and configuration, tied to a specific data set, that define how data is presented.

  1. All Rule Sets referenced by renderers inside Visualizations
  2. All Color Palettes referenced by renderers.
Pages A group of Visualization instances that display data from various sources.

  1. Page configuration, such as layout options.
  2. Page Variables, used to expose Node Variables required by underlying queries.
  3. Visualization Instances included on the page.
  4. Actions associated with Visualization instances on the Page.
Users Provisioning information for the system:

  1. Domains
  2. Roles
  3. Users
License License information for the system.
Custom Folders All custom assets included on the server’s filesystem:

  1. Data files (CSV, JSON, XML, XLSX)
  2. Web rules
  3. Modules
  4. Scripts
  5. Custom libraries
  6. Images
  7. Custom translation packs

Exporting a Full Backup will capture all the configuration listed above. It does not capture some external support artifacts such as:

  • Additional external databases
  • Database Drivers
  • Scripts outside the scripts folder

The above artifacts are beyond the scope of the product itself, but they should be considered from an overall deployment perspective.

Creating a Full Backup #

Refer to information provided on Backup and Restore.

Restoring a Full Backup #

To open the Backup & Restore user interface, use either: #

  •  – The icon located in the Admin Toolbar, the vertical bar that runs down the left side of an administrator’s screen.
  • System Menu -> Backup & Restore.

To restore a backup, select an item in the list, and activate the Restore Wizard by either clicking the “Restore” button in the bottom toolbar, or double-clicking the item in the list. The wizard’s steps are described below.

Step 1: Restore Options #

This dialog provides several options that affect how the backup will be applied.

Clear custom folders #

Determines how to handle custom (filesystem) content on the current system.

Yes All static-content, data files, web rules, modules, scripts, custom libraries, images, and custom translation packs will be removed.
No Custom content will remain on the system.  (This is the recommended option in most cases.)

Restore Users #

Determines how to handle provisioning information on the current system.

Yes This overwrites all domains, roles, and users on the active server with the contents from the archive.
No User content from the archive will be ignored. The domains, roles, and users currently on the system will remain intact. (This is the recommended option.)

Restore License #

Determines how to handle License information on the current system.

Yes This overwrites the license information on the active server with the contents from the archive.
No This license information in the archive is ignored. The license information on the current system will remain intact. (This is the recommended option.)

Preview Contents #

Determines whether to show a preview of contents prior to restoring.

Yes A preview will be shown. (This is the recommended option.)
No The preview will be skipped. Displaying a preview for large backups can take some time.

Step 2: Restore Summary #

The restore summary shows a preview of content that will be restored on the active server. This gives an administrator the chance to preview changes to the system prior to restoring a full backup.

As a safety measure, the system will automatically perform a full backup prior to a restore. These recovery backups can be used to revert the system’s configuration state to that prior to performing the restore. They are available through the “Recovery” tab in the “Backup & Restore” UI. See Backup and Restore for more information.

#

Command Line Full Backup/Restore #

edgeCore also allows server administrators to create and restore backups via the operating system command line interface.

Create a Full Backup via Edge CLI (v3.8.5+) #

To create a full backup via command line using the new Edge CLI, the server must be running. The command is as follows:

bin/es-cli.sh backup [-l] [-c] [-f FILENAME] --user username [--pass password]
Option
Description
-l Include the log files within the archive.
-c Set the “coerce” flag. This must be included if creating a backup on a non-admin server within a cluster.
-f FILENAME Adding this option and specifying a filename is optional. The default value is “edgeSuite-export-” followed by a timestamp. If setting FILENAME, no extension is needed as it will be added automatically when the backup is created.

See Edge CLI for more information, including instructions for running the new Edge CLI on Windows.

Create a Full Backup via Legacy Edge CLI #

The backup command in the legacy Edge CLI (edge.sh) will be deprecated in edgeSuite 4.0. For now, however, it is still available and can be run as follows:

bin/edge.sh backup [-l] -f FILENAME

Note that the resultant backup image will be found in [INSTALL_HOME]/exports/FILENAME. An extension of .zip is automatically added to the name if not specified. Similar to the new Edge CLI, the -l option can be added to include the log files in the backup file.

For systems running on Windows, use edge.bat instead.

Restore a Full Backup via Edge CLI (v3.8.5+) #

To restore a full backup via command line using the new Edge CLI, the server must be running. The command is as follows:

bin/es-cli.sh restore [--list archives] [-r] [-l OPTION] [-t TYPE] [-c] -f FILENAME --user username [--pass password]
Option
Description
–list archives View a list of restorable archives.
-r Remove files from the custom folders before restoring the archive.
-l OPTION If using the -l flag, OPTION must be true or false (default is true for full backups). If set to false, the restore will preserve the current license. Otherwise, the current license will be replaced by the one in the archive.
-t TYPE Set the restore type to either ALL or CONTENT_ONLY (default is ALL). If set to CONTENT_ONLY, the existing users and groups will not be affected by the restore.
-c Set the “coerce” flag. This must be included if restoring a backup on a non-admin server within a cluster.
-f FILENAME Specify the archive to be restored. The extension must be included. FILENAME can refer either to a named archive within edgeSuite’s exports folder (the archive names can be viewed using –list archives), or to an archive that exists on the same system as edgeSuite (i.e. FILENAME in this case should be a path to the backup file).

FILENAME is required unless running the restore command with –list archives.

See Edge CLI for more information, including instructions for running the new Edge CLI on Windows.

Restore a Full Backup via Legacy Edge CLI #

The restore command in the legacy Edge CLI (edge.sh) will be deprecated in edgeSuite 4.0. For now, however, it is still available and can be run as follows:

bin/edge.sh restore [-r] [-l] [-t TYPE] -f FILENAME
Option
Description
-r Remove files from the custom folders before restoring the archive.
-l Replace the current license with the license from archive.
-t TYPE Set restore type to ALL, CONTENT_AND_USERS, or CONTENT_ONLY. The options ALL and CONTENT_AND_USERS are essentially the same, but the latter does not automatically replace the license.
-f FILENAME FILENAME must be the path (relative or absolute) to the backup file that is to be restored.

Note that, for restore purposes, the backup image may exist in any folder on the system.

For systems running on Windows use edge.bat instead.